Skip to content

Niceties

July 9, 2009

I’ve stopped playing WoW frequently and consequently have been letting this blog slide. I got a new job about the time I wrote my last post and haven’t had time to play very often. I’ve been spending a lot of time working, knitting, and hanging out with the folks from my knitting group (very awesome people). I returned to the game today and I wanted to write about a few of the things that happened to me.

I haven’t been online in a little over a month on any character. It’s been a nice break and I got all kinds of knitting done. Unfortunately, I’ve found myself watching a lot of crap TV. So much TV that I’ve found myself getting irritated with certain commercials because I’ve seen them so many times. I’d rather spend my time socializing with other people, even it is a video game, than watching the same stupid commercials over and over again.

The socialization is what I wanted to talk about though. Let me just say, I was extremely disappointed by the lack of maturity in-game. I guess all the time I’ve spent hanging out with my knitting friends this last month has spoiled me. Apparently I expect a certain level of respect and maturity and man, WoW does not even come close to meeting that desire. Here’s what happened today:

1) A fury warrior snarked at me for not keeping him alive while he tried to tank 8 mobs ( I’m not exaggerating) in Zul’Farrak. I was healing on my level 44 shadow priest and I had been alternating between shadowform and healing throughout the instance, depending on the severity of the pull (so he knew I wasn’t holy or disc). To be perfectly honest, fury warrior, I don’t have to heal you. Oh, and if you had at least put on a shield or, you know, let the real tank handle those mobs, you might have lived.

2) When my heroic Azjol-Nerub group wiped on the first pull of the first boss, the death knight refused to accept a rez and wouldn’t run back. We waited quite a while before deciding to replace him and then spent a considerable amount of time trying to find another dps to replace him. I wish he would have said that he was going afk or asked to be replaced, rather than wasting our time like that. Mr. Death Knight, you are an ass.

3) A warlock snarked at me for using thunderstorm in the middle of a group of mobs, sending them flying. Nothing was pulled by the flying mobs, as I used it judiciously and in combination with my Elemental Mastery spell for extra crit power. No one else complained and that was the only time I used it that way. Yes, I understand that thunderstorm is annoying but all self-respecting shaman like to pop eight mobs in the air at a time. The trick is having the situational awareness and discrimination to use it appropriately. In other words, using it where it won’t pull other mobs and after the tank has established aggro on everything so that a momentary disruption won’t result in another party member dying. Mr. Warlock, there was no reason to snark at me. I didn’t use it stupidly. I didn’t cause a wipe. No one died. Get the stick out of your ass and appreciate the beauty of eight non-elites flying simultaneously through the air.

4) When visiting Thunder Bluff to respec, a level 6 hunter started pestering me for gold. His spelling and punctuation was impeccable: “pez gold” I finally whispered “No.” and put him on ignore. He emoted begging for another minute before wandering off. Just because I’m level 80 doesn’t mean I have gold. I am habitually broke on all my 80s and I had just respecced, leaving me all of 20 gold. Not to mention that you’re on an RP server. I have given gold to people that actually attempt to role-play while asking for money, even in my perpetually broke state. A little effort and respect for others would be much appreciated. Hell, it may even net you more than you expect (like runs through an instance, gear, or a new friend).

Incidents like these are perhaps taken for granted by the majority of WoW players. Most probably don’t even notice. After my extended break however, these things really grate on my enjoyment of the game. It makes me reluctant to log on, let alone heal (in reference to the first incident).

Let’s not forget the hours I spent in lfg trying to get a ZF group for my priest (I logged on at noon and didn’t find a group until nearly 5pm). Then the heroic Azjol group I was in on my mage couldn’t get past the first boss, so I had to switch to my shaman for totems. Almost every piece of gear I needed on my mage dropped (of course). Oh yes, and the heroic Oculus group I got into on my shaman (last boss she needs for the Champion of the Frozen Wastes title) couldn’t get into the instance because “No new instances can be launched at this time.” Seriously? Not only do I have to waste my time dealing with stupid people, but Blizzard can’t run their game properly.

Obviously, I wasn’t very impressed by my return to WoW today. I’m certainly not going to put aside time to play every week. The only upside to being online was seeing my friends. They are the reason I log on!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nomi permalink
    July 10, 2009 8:50 am

    Yep, WoW players can be ridiculously annoying. I know there’s awesome people too (I mostly play for the socialization too – and hey, there’s you and I!), but there’s a reason I took a 6-week break last year too! Glad you’re enjoying the knitting s much. 🙂

  2. Zindo permalink
    July 20, 2009 8:37 pm

    Well, if you ever get tired of PuGing it up with all the Scrubby McFailboats, you know where to find your real family. ❤

Leave a Reply

