Skip to content

An Award? Huh?

March 26, 2009

Anea of Holy Discipline tagged me awarded me with The Honest Scrap award. I’m still unsure if this is a compliment or constructive criticism! Judging by the well-aged quality of the “award,” I’m leaning towards a critique, particularly given my posting frequency lately! I mean, I’m definitely not slacking at all. Just busy. Yes, busy.

Either way, thank you for the award, Anea! I adore your blog, so I’m flattered that you like mine!


“This award is bestowed on a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.”

  1. When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.
  2. Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven friends. Show the seven random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon.
  3. List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

In keeping with the other recipient’s/giver’s honest things about themselves, this will be RL-flavored:

  1. I am a true nerd. My undergrad degree is in geology with a minor in biology and my masters is in museum studies. I also worked in a library while in graduate school. So yes, I’m a librarian/rockhound/museum worker. I don’t wear glasses though.

    David Bowie in Labyrinth

    David Bowie in Labyrinth

  2. My stupid party trick is contact juggling. Yes, like David Bowie in the movie Labyrinth. And yes, I did dress up as him for Halloween one year. It was epic (and I really wish I had pictures of the costume!).
  3. I read Questionable Content every day. Total Hannelore fangirl, right here.
  4. My undergraduate college is a Swedish Lutheran private liberal arts school. I am neither Swedish nor Lutheran, but my blonde hair and Minnesotan accent allowed me to blend in seamlessly. Ya, you betcha!
  5. I play WoW on a Mac. I have two Macs and I love them dearly.
  6. Alternative is my kind of music. The Twin Cities doesn’t have any good alternative music radio stations. This makes me a sad panda on a daily basis.
  7. I’ve read Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series at least six times, with fewer repetitions on the later volumes. I eagerly await the completion of the last book, written by Brandon Sanderson.
  8. Adding to the mounting evidence that I am a true geek, I was a hopeless marching band nerd in high school. I played the mellophone (like a trumpet, only bigger) and the horn. I was the head of the uniform crew and section leader for two years. I nearly majored in music, but came to my senses and stuck with the dinosaurs instead.
  9. Firefly is the best television series ever to exist. Haven’t managed to get the firefly pet though. *sad face*
  10. I am learning how to knit and I love it. Love, love, love it. I’ve been sacrificing WoW time for knitting time, which is the “busy” I referred to earlier.

Now, my own awards show! Let’s see… Seven blogs that I think are brilliantly designed and have excellent content:

  1. Aspect of the Hare by Pike. She’s awesome and even though I don’t play a hunter, I love her blog.
  2. Big Bear Butt by John Patricelli. What can I say? I’m a devoted fan. I love his attitude towards helping folks out.
  3. Tank Like A Girl by Kadomi. She’s inspiring! Her blog layout is fantastic, too.
  4. Shields Up! by Drug. My go-to blog for all things shaman.
  5. Embers by Aestiah. Spreading around some Moon Guard love and giving a nod to a good RP blog.
  6. Tanking Tips by Veneretio. Excellent resource for prot warriors specifically, but useful to other varieties of tanks as well.
  7. Binary Colors. This blog frequently makes me laugh out loud.

(I’d totally tag Too Many Annas as well, but Anea beat me to it!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fahnsu permalink
    April 17, 2009 7:14 pm

    HAY MOAR UPDAETS NAWO

Trackbacks

  1. Honest Scrap Award | Shields Up!

Leave a Reply

